Onsite Referees for WRTC2014 Announced

Windham, NH
December 16, 2013

Onsite Referees for WRTC2014 Announced

WRTC2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC), is pleased to announce the fifty-nine referees that will be monitoring the competing teams during the competition July 12-13, 2014.

A referee will be on site at each of the 59 competing stations to verify compliance with the rules and make decisions on any rule questions by the teams. The referees must be top-level contesters because they must simultaneously listen to the audio from both operators for the entire 24 hours of the WRTC2014 competition.

The referee application and verification process was managed by Dan Street, K1TO. There were 143 applications received. The selection process considered many factors, including geographical areas, language skills and SO2R ability.

Dave Sumner, K1ZZ, Chief Judge for WRTC2014, had this comment regarding the selections, “With so many well qualified volunteers willing to serve as referees it was simply impossible to choose everyone we would have liked. It is a great tribute to the past and present WRTC organizers that the event is so strongly supported by active contesters from around the globe. We know that everyone who volunteered will help in any way they can to make WRTC 2014 another success.”

There are less than 7 months remaining until WRTC2014. Questions regarding WRTC2014 Referee selection should be submitted by e-mail to Referee@wrtc2014.org.


List of Referees

9A4M Mate Botica
CX7TT Tom Morton
DL2OBF Heinrich Langkopf
EA5RS Juan M. Chazarra
ES5RY Toomas Soomets
F6BEE Jacques Saget
G3SXW Roger Western
G4BUO Dave Lawley
GM4AFF Stewart Cooper
HA1AG Zoli Pitman
HA3NU László Weisz
HA6ND Válóczi György
HB9CAT Marco Zollinger
IT9GSF Fabio Grisafi
JH4RHF Jun Tanaka
K4BAI John T. Laney III
K4RO Kirk Pickering
K5GN David McCarty
K5GO Stan Stockton
K5WA Bob Evans
K6NA Glenn Rattmann
K7GK Denis Pochuev
KC7V Mike Fulcher
LY7Z Andrius Ignotas
LZ2HM Andrey Stefanov Sachkov
N3RD David Hawes
N5AW Marvin Bloomquist
NF4A Charles Wooten
OE6MBG Michael S. Schwab
OH1RX Jouko Häyrynen
PA3AAV Gert Meinen
PY8AZT Luc Moreira
RA3AUU Igor “Harry” Booklan
RA9USU Dmitry Zhikharev
RW4WR Alex Orlov
S50XX Kristjan Kodermac
S53R Robert Kasca
SM6LRR Mats Strandberg
SP4Z Wieslaw Kosinski
UA9MA Gennady I Kolmakov
UT5UGR Dmitry Stashuk
UT7QF Igor Syerikov
VA2WA Victor Androsov
VE3EY Nick Lekic
VE3RA Ed Kulchenko
VE3XB Yuri Romanov
VK2IA Bernd Länger
VK4EMM John Loftus
W0YK Ed Muns
W4PA Scott E. Robbins
W6OAT Charles K. “Rusty” Epps
YL2KL Girts Budis
YO9GZU Tiberiu “Tibi” Tebeica
YU1EA/YT8A Dušan Ćeha
YU1LA Ivan Mastilovic
ZL3CW/F2CW Jacques Calvo
ZS4TX Bernie van der Walt
ZS6EZ Chris R. Burger

See http://www.wrtc2014.org/qualifying/referee-selection/ for an explanation of the referee qualifications and application process.


About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and consists of 50+ two-person teams of amateur radio operators from around the world competing in a test of operating skill.  Unlike most on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability.  Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco (1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010).  More information is available at www.wrtc2014.org or contact WRTC Chairman Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg@wrtc2014.org.