Call for Hosts of WRTC2018

17 September 2013

Greetings to the World’s Radiosport Community,

As you know, we are all anticipating the 2014 World Radiosport Championships (WRTC) to be hosted in New England next July.

Preparations are going very well, including tests of the stations and antennas in the field during the IARU HF Championships.  Score reporting, log checking, and other crucial administrative systems are in the final stages of preparation and testing.  The final round of qualifying scores has been published and applications for Team Leaders are being accepted.  We congratulate the WRTC-2014 committee on their superb organization and transparency to date!

Like the International Olympics, it is important to provide continuity for the WRTC program and give the radiosport community as much time as possible to prepare for each event.  Thus, it is appropriate at this time to begin the process of considering where WRTC-2018 will be held and who will make up the organizing committee.  The WRTC Sanctioning Committee is responsible for evaluating requests to host a WRTC event and selecting the winning applicant.

In order to begin the evaluation process, the WRTC Sanctioning Committee requests any potential sponsor to send a written letter of intent to our chairman, Tine Brajnik, S5ØA, at the address below.  The letter should identify the group’s primary leaders and contact information, along with the general time frame and location for the event. We will then respond with the WRTC requirements document from which a formal proposal can be created.  The deadline for submitting the letter of intent is December 31, 2013.  Formal proposals will then be accepted until March 1, 2014.  The WRTC Sanctioning Committee stands ready to answer questions and provide whatever information we can to assist potential hosts in expressing interest and making an application. It is our plan to announce the selected hosts for WRTC-2018 at the closing banquet of WRTC-2014.

Thank you for supporting WRTC with your donations, attendance, and most importantly, by participating.  Since the first WRTC in 1990, the event has grown due to the enthusiastic endorsement of the world radiosport community from all around the world.  It is a distinct pleasure to begin the long journey towards the eighth WRTC in 2018, wherever it may be held.

Sincerely and 73,

The World Radiosport Team Championship Sanctioning Committee


Tine Brajnik, S5ØA, WRTC-2000
President, WRTC Sanctioning Committee
Velike Lipljene 24

Ward Silver, NØAX, WRTC-1990
Secretary, WRTC Sanctioning Committee
712 Jefferson St
St. Charles, MO 63301

WRTC Sanctioning Committee Members

Dan Eskenazi, K7SS, WRTC-1990
Bob Cox, K3EST, WRTC-1996
Rusty Epps, W6OAT, WRTC-1996
Martti Laine, OH2BH, WRTC-2002
Jukka Kulha, OH2MA, WRTC-2002
Atilano Oms, PY5EG, WRTC-2006
Sergio Almeida, PP5JR, WRTC-2006
Harry Booklan, RA3AUU, WRTC-2010
Roman Thomas, RZ3AA, WRTC-2010