WRTC-2014 Receives Contribution from YASME Foundation

Windham,NH May 10, 2011


WRTC 2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship competition, is pleased to announce that it has received a significant financial contribution from the YASME Foundation.

In announcing the gift, Yasme Secretary, Kip Edwards, W6SZN stated, “The Yasme Foundation is pleased to support WRTC-2014. WRTC is not only the premier radiosport competition but it also furthers the goals of amateur radio, especially the promotion of international goodwill.”

“It is very gratifying to receive this vote of support from Yasme,” said Doug Grant, K1DG, Chairman of WRTC-2014. “More than just a radio competition, WRTC is a place where competitors from around the world can create or renew lasting friendships.”

Fifty-nine (59) teams of top amateur radio contest operators from around the globe will travel to theNew Englandarea July 10-14, 2014 to compete in WRTC-2014. Participation is based on qualifying scores posted in major contests between 2010 and 2014. A group of referees and judges, themselves well known contest operators, will oversee the competition and confirm the results.

For information about WRTC-2014, contact WRTC Chairman, Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg@wrtc2014.org.


The YASME Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to conduct scientific and educational projects related to Amateur Radio, including DXing (long distance communication) and the introduction and promotion of Amateur Radio in underdeveloped countries. For more information please visit www.yasme.org.

About WRTC 2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and consists of approximately 50 two-person teams of amateur radio operators competing in a test of operating skill. Unlike most on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability. Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle(1990), San Francisco(1996), Slovenia(2000), Finland(2002), Brazil(2006), and Russia(2010). More information is available at www.wrtc2014.org.