WRTC2014 Names Judging Committee

Windham, NH
January 31, 2013

WRTC2014 Names Judging Committee

WRTC2014, Inc., host of the 2014 World Radiosport Team Championship competition is pleased to announce the judging committee that will be responsible for certifying the results of the competition. David Sumner, K1ZZ, will serve as Chief Judge leading the committee of Nodir Tursoon-Zadeh, EY8MM, Don Field, G3XTT, Dan Street, K1TO, and Dick Norton, N6AA.

In making the announcement, WRTC2014 Chairman Doug Grant, K1DG, stated, “We are extremely fortunate to have this multi-national team of Judges on board. Each of them is highly respected by the contesting community and brings valuable experience and skills to the event. It is our goal to ensure a fairly-judged competition and we are confident this team will do a great job.”

Dave Sumner, K1ZZ, is well known in the international amateur radio community as a result of his past service as Secretary of the International Amateur Radio Union and many years on the staff of the American Radio Relay League, where he is currently Chief Executive Officer. He has served as a Judge at every WRTC event since 2000. Mr. Sumner noted, “It’s an honor to serve as Chief Judge at WRTC. The 2014 event holds special significance since it will take place in New England during the celebration of the ARRL’s 100th anniversary.”

Nodir Tursoon-Zadeh, EY8MM, is an accomplished operator and DXer, holding many contest and DX records on 160 and 6 meters from Tajikistan. He served as a referee at WRTC2006 in Brazil and was a Judge at WRTC2010 in Moscow.

Don Field, G3XTT, is an active contester both as a single-operator and as part of many successful multi-op teams around the world. Don has been contest manager of the Islands on the Air contest for the past 12 years and was RSGB Contest Committee Chairman from 2007 to 2010. He was a referee at WRTC 2006 in Brazil and a member of the Judging Committee at WRTC 2010 in Moscow.

Dan Street, K1TO, is a three-time WRTC gold medalist. In addition to leading the WRTC qualifying and competitor selection process, Dan manages the Florida QSO Party, serves as President of the Florida Contest Group, and is a director of WRTC2014. He has also spent time working in the ARRL Contest Branch.

Dick Norton, N6AA, has been a referee and competitor in multiple WRTCs and holds the distinction of having operated the CQWW contest from each of the 40 WAZ Zones. He is a Director of the ARRL and served for many years on the CQWW Contest Committee, conceiving many of the log-checking practices in use today.

Andy Blank, N2NT, WRTC2014 Director of Competition, will serve as liaison to the WRTC Board of Directors.

A log-checking team consisting of Larry “Tree” Tyree, N6TR, and Trey Garlough, N5KO will provide software support and log-checking services to the Judging Committee. Both are well known in the contesting world as talented operators and both have been WRTC competitors. Tree currently provides log-checking services for several ARRL contests and the CQ 160 meter contest. Trey was instrumental in developing the Cabrillo file standard and log-receiving robots. They were both recently recognized for their contributions to radiosport with YASME Foundation Excellence Awards.

For information about WRTC2014, contact WRTC Chairman, Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg@wrtc2014.org.


About WRTC2014

The World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) is held every four years and consists of approximately 50 two-person teams of amateur radio operators from around the world competing in a test of operating skill. Unlike most on-the-air competitions, all stations are required to use identical antennas from the same geographic region, eliminating all variables except operating ability. Previous WRTCs have been held in Seattle (1990), San Francisco (1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002), Brazil (2006), and Russia (2010). More information is available at www.wrtc2014.org or contact WRTC Chairman, Doug Grant, K1DG, via e-mail at k1dg@wrtc2014.org.